Developments in Russian market for I-RECs

24 February 2021

Following the acceptance of Russia as an authorized issuance country under the I-REC Standard on the 18th of February 2020, the first I-RECs have been issued for devices in the country. Stakeholders and market players are confident in the development of a robust market for EACs in Russia growing in 2021. The strong developments in the first month that issuance was authorized supported these claims.  

 

First successful issuance

The local I-REC issuer in Russia, Goal Number Seven (GNS), has issued their first I-RECs after EN+ Group successfully registered solar and hydropower plants and requested issuance. The I-REC Standard Foundation congratulates all stakeholders with this accomplishment as it paves the way for end-users to further accelerate the development of renewables in Russia by procuring renewables through a robust attribute tracking scheme.

 

Link to En+ Group article: https://enplusgroup.com

 

Tatiana Lanshina, GNS CEO: “We saw significant demand to register devices last month showing a need for a standardized energy attribute tracking systems in Russia. In January 2021, we registered 26 new solar power plants out of the 29 devices that are in the registry at the moment. In less than 2 months, over 286 thousand Russian I-RECs have been issued. So far, major I-REC beneficiaries are foreign companies owning Russian manufacturing facilities and office premises. However, Russian companies also start to demonstrate interest towards going renewable”.

 

Coordination with the national authorities

 

On the 8th of February 2021, the I-REC Standard secretariat, together with GNS (and the other organizations on the agenda), joined the association “NP Market Council” (regulator or electric power markets in Russia) for a webinar on further coordination of EAC markets in the country. The event was attended by more than 100-stakeholder organizations.  

 

Steven Vanholme, EKOenergy: “EKOenergy has been active in Russia since 2015 as a non-profit focusing on the promotion of renewable energy. We reached out to public authorities, companies, as well as to NGOs to hear more about their expectations and ambitions. The fully-booked webinar that the local IREC representatives organized on Monday, the 8th February 2021, was a milestone with a record number of attendees of varied backgrounds. As the renewable energy market is growing, cooperation becomes even more important to ensure that we all take steps towards 100% renewable energy, and to make sure that everyone can concentrate on what they are most

experienced in."

 

Sberbank is now an active I-REC market player

In addition to the added supply of I-RECs to the Russian market, there is a growing demand for I-RECs which can be seen by the successful application of Sberbank as an I-REC participant. With their role as a participant, Sberbank is now able to purchase and redeem I-RECs on behalf of themselves and others. The I-REC Standard Foundation continues to collaborate with Sberbank on the development of a platform where I-REC sellers and buyers can meet and trade I-RECs in Russia. There are ongoing discussions if such a platform could be implemented to support the Russian market for EACs more broadly.

 

Alexander Vedyakhin, First Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board, Sberbank:

“Sberbank has joined the international energy tracking standard, I-REC, as a market participant. The agreement will enable the largest Russian bank to create a fundamentally new and innovative market for Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs) in Russia.

 

To create a transparent and convenient framework for the circulation of certificates, a decentralized platform designed by the Sberbank Blockchain Laboratory has been used. Not only do we expect that this product will strengthen the bank’s position in the international ESG ratings, but we also see the market showing commercial interest in it. Several of the Bank’s largest customers, both renewable energy producers and consumers, have already stated their intention to use the blockchain platform.”

 

Link to Sberbank’s press release: https://www.sberbank.ru

PJSC Sberbank is Russia’s largest bank and a leading global financial institution. Holding almost one-third of aggregate Russian banking sector assets, Sberbank is the key lender to the national economy and one of the biggest deposit takers in Russia. The Government of the Russian Federation represented by the Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation is the principal shareholder of PJSC Sberbank owning 50% plus one voting share of the bank’s authorized capital, with the remaining 50% minus one voting share held by domestic and international investors. Sberbank has customers in 18 countries. The bank has a major distribution network in Russia with about 14,000 branches, while its international operations – subsidiary banks, branches, and chapters – include the UK, US, CIS, Central and Eastern Europe, India, China, and other countries. It holds general banking license No. 1481 dd. August 11, 2015, from the Bank of Russia. Official websites of the bank: www.sberbank.com (Sberbank Group website), www.sberbank.ru.

 

In 2020 Sberbank underwent a rebranding, offering financial and non-financial services of the bank and Sberbank Group to individual and corporate customers. Today, the Sber ecosystem is a raft of services for life and daily assistance in handling pressing everyday issues for individual customers and businesses. The Sber ecosystem website: www.sber.ru.

Новости российского рынка сертификатов I-REC

24 февраля 2021

После того, как 18 февраля 2020 года Россия была признана авторизованной страной выпуска сертификатов происхождения электроэнергии по стандарту I-REC, для российских электростанций были выпущены первые сертификаты. Заинтересованные стороны и представители отрасли ВИЭ уверены в устойчивом развитии рынка I-REC в России в 2021 году. Это подтверждают события последних месяцев.  

 

Первый успешный выпуск

Местный эмитент I-REC в России, ассоциация участников рынков энергии «Цель номер семь», выпустил первые сертификаты после того, как EN + Group успешно зарегистрировала в реестре солнечную электростанцию и гидроэлектростанцию и запросила выпуск. I-REC Standard Foundation поздравляет все заинтересованные стороны с этим достижением, поскольку оно позволяет конечным покупателям сертификатов ускорять развитие возобновляемых источников энергии в России через использование надежной схемы отслеживания происхождения электроэнергии.

 

Ссылка на пресс-релиз En+ Group: https://enplusgroup.com/ru

Татьяна Ланьшина, генеральный директор ассоциации «Цель номер семь»: «В прошлом месяце мы увидели значительный спрос на регистрацию электростанций в реестре I-REC, свидетельствующий о потребности в стандартизированных системах отслеживания происхождения электроэнергии в России. В январе 2021 года мы зарегистрировали 26 новых СЭС из 29 электростанций, которые сейчас присутствуют в реестре. Менее чем за 2 месяца было выпущено более 286 тысяч российских сертификатов I-REC. Пока основными бенефициарами являются иностранные компании, владеющие производственными и офисными площадями в России. Однако российские компании также начинают проявлять интерес к переходу на возобновляемые источники энергии.»

 

Взаимодействие с национальными регуляторами

 

8 февраля 2021 года секретариат I-REC Standard вместе с ассоциацией "Цель номер семь" и другими организациями обсудил дальнейшее развитие рынка сертификатов происхождения электроэнергии в России с ассоциацией «НП Совет Рынка» (регулятор рынков электроэнергии в России). В мероприятии приняли участие более 100 заинтересованных сторон.

 

Стивен Ванхолме, ЭКОэнергия: «ЭКОэнергия проводит работу в России с 2015 года как некоммерческая организация, занимающаяся продвижением возобновляемых источников энергии. Мы взаимодействовали с государственными органами, компаниям, а также некоммерческими организациями, чтобы быть в курсе их ожиданий и амбиций. Число участников вебинара, организованного местными представителями I-REC 8 февраля 2021 года, превысило число доступных мест, и это можно считать важной вехой. По мере роста рынка возобновляемых источников энергии сотрудничество становится все более важным, чтобы гарантировать, что все мы делаем шаги в направлении 100% ВИЭ, и чтобы каждый мог сосредоточиться на том, в чем он имеет наибольший опыт.»

 

Сбербанк стал участником рынка I-REC

На российском рынке растет не только предложение, но и спрос на сертификаты I-REC, о чем свидетельствует успешная заявка Сбербанка в качестве участника I-REC. Будучи участником рынка, Сбербанк теперь может покупать и погашать сертификаты I-REC на свое имя и на имя других организаций. I-REC Standard Foundation также сотрудничает со Сбербанком в разработке платформы, на которой продавцы и покупатели могут найти друг друга и осуществить куплю-продажу сертификатов I-REC в России. В настоящее время ведутся переговоры о возможности внедрения такой платформы для более широкой поддержки российского рынка сертификатов происхождения электроэнергии.

 

Александр Ведякин, первый заместитель председателя правления Сбербанка:

«Сбербанк присоединился к международному стандарту I-REC в качестве участника рынка. Соглашение позволит крупнейшему российскому банку создать в России принципиально новый и инновационный рынок сертификатов возобновляемой энергии.

 

Для создания прозрачной и удобной среды для обращения сертификатов была использована децентрализованная платформа, разработанная блокчейн-лабораторией Сбербанка. Мы не только ожидаем, что этот продукт усилит позиции банка в международных рейтингах ESG, но и видим, что рынок проявляет к нему коммерческий интерес. Несколько крупнейших клиентов Банка, как производители, так и потребители возобновляемой энергии, уже заявили о своем намерении использовать блокчейн-платформу.»

 

Ссылка на пресс-релиз Сбербанка: https://press.sber.ru

 

ПАО Сбербанк - крупнейший банк России и ведущий мировой финансовый институт. Сбербанк владеет почти третью совокупных активов российского банковского сектора, является ключевым кредитором национальной экономики и одним из крупнейших депозитариев в России. Правительство Российской Федерации в лице Министерства финансов Российской Федерации является основным акционером ПАО Сбербанк, владеющим 50% плюс одной голосующей акцией в уставном капитале банка, а остальные 50% за вычетом одной голосующей акции принадлежат отечественным и иностранным инвесторам. Клиенты Сбербанка находятся в 18 странах мира. Банк имеет крупную дистрибьюторскую сеть в России с 14 000 филиалов, а его международные операции (через дочерние банки, филиалы и отделения) осуществляются в Великобритании, США, странах СНГ, странах Центральной и Восточной Европы, Индии, Китае и других странах. Сбербанк имеет генеральную лицензию Банка России на осуществление банковских операций № 1481 от 11 августа 2015 года.

 

Официальные сайты банка: www.sberbank.com

(сайт Группы Сбербанк), www.sberbank.ru.

 

В 2020 году Сбербанк провел ребрендинг, предложив финансовые и нефинансовые услуги банка и Группы Сбербанк физическим и юридическим лицам. Сегодня экосистема Сбера - это набор услуг для жизни и решения насущных повседневных задач для физических лиц и предприятий.

 

Сайт экосистемы Сбер: www.sber.ru.